Kinda Healthy Mini Sweet Potato Cupcakes

Sweet Potato Cupcake Cover Photo

I know I said this blog was to chronicle my journey through The Fannie Farmer Baking Book. So naturally, my first recipe post should be a Fannie Farmer recipe. But…this recipe is NOT one of Fannie Farmer’s 800 baking recipes. I repeat. This is NOT one of Fannie Farmer’s 800 baking recipes.

I know. You must be absolutely APPALLED. But please, let me explain.

My apartment-mate was working out at the student rec center, browsing through one of the magazines on the racks, when she came across a page featuring a recipe for Sweet Potato Cupcakes with Chai Frosting. And really, how can you resist a cupcake? How can you resist a sweet potato cupcake? How can you resist a sweet potato cupcake when it’s staring at you while you’re sweating it away at the gym? [I crave sweets and desserts more when I’m exercising…is that just me?!] Well, she couldn’t resist. She ripped the page out of the magazine and brought it back home.

Mini Sweet Potato Cupcake

Really though. Look at these cupcakes. I would’ve torn that recipe out of the magazine too. Besides, the cupcakes are made with oat flour, egg whites, and a sweet potato (a vegetable)…that means they’re kinda sorta healthy…right?

So, long story short:

a stolen, semi-healthy recipe + sweet potatoes + ingredients already on hand + cravings = HOW COULD WE POSSIBLY NOT BAKE THESE CUPCAKES

Sweet Potato Cupcake 3

It. Was. Delicious. Incredibly moist, and you can actually taste the sweet potato. It’s a bit dense to be considered a cupcake; it’s actually more of a muffin. But, I almost prefer it this way – it’s reminiscent of my favorite Fall classic, the pumpkin muffin. The original recipe calls for oat flour. I didn’t have any on hand, so I just threw some old-fashioned rolled oats into a food processor. This gave the muffin a hearty, chewy texture, which was a surprisingly nice contrast to the creamy, melt-in-your-mouth consistency of the cream cheese frosting.

I made 12 mini-cupcakes with this, and all 12 were gone by the next morning…but no need to feel guilty!

So, without further ado, here’s the recipe!

Sweet Potato Cupcake Recipe Card

2 thoughts on “Kinda Healthy Mini Sweet Potato Cupcakes

  1. 어머나 이거 너무 먹고 싶당
    생긴것도 예쁘고 먹음직도 하고… 나도 한번 해 봐야지

Leave a Reply

