My Baking Journey – Explained.

“The Fannie Farmer Baking Book Illustrated.”

Time to illustrate what that actually means.

Ding! The Lightbulb Goes Off

In my 21 years of life, I have owned my fair share of baking books. Some, I bought. Some were gifts. All of them, I looked through maybe once. All of them still look completely new. None of them would be considered a baking compendium.

I tend to look for baking recipes online. I also tend to stick to easy and basic muffins, cupcakes, and cookies. You could say that I’m stuck in a ‘baking comfort zone’ of sorts.

Then, a couple weeks ago, an idea hit me. Why don’t I invest in a comprehensive baking book, and go through each and every recipe in the book? It’ll force me to branch out of my comfort zone and help me to really master and hone all the various baking techniques.

Challenge accepted.

Why the Fannie Farmer Baking Book?

There are literally thousands of baking books out there. How did I choose the perfect book?

I turned to google. Search Term: “Best baking books”

A couple of clicks later, I ended up on James Beard’s Baker’s Dozen – a list of must-have baking books spanning four decades. The Fannie Farmer Baking Book seemed like the most comprehensive baking book on the list, containing chapters on pies and tarts, cookies, cakes, yeast breads, quick breads, and even crackers. Some even hail it as the ‘baking bible,’ a guide for both beginning and experienced bakers alike.

Book chosen.

The Birth of the Tagline

The Fannie Farmer Baking Book is unlike the myriad of modern baking books out there. It doesn’t don fancy, schmancy pictures of baked goods fit to be served at high-end, gourmet bakeries. Marion Cunningham believed that modern baking books placed too much emphasis on “glorious color photographs that makes them seem almost beyond the home cook’s reach.”

Fannie Farmer Illustration

The result? A no frills baking book. The only illustrations you’ll find are like those in the picture above.

But personally, I like to see those “glorious color photographs.” They make my mouth water. They inspire me to bake!

This is when the second idea hit me. If I’m going to be baking everything in the book anyways, why don’t I photograph my creations and make my own illustrated, blog version of The Fannie Farmer Baking Book?

Challenge 2 accepted. Tagline born.

My Baking Journey in a Nutshell

In short, my baking journey will take me through the 800 recipes included in The Fannie Farmer Baking Book. I’m sure it’ll take me years to reach the end of this voyage, but I’m excited to start this trek! No matter how long it takes me, this is not a journey that I will abandon. 800 days of candyfairyfloss, here I come.

Journey embarked

 

Leave a Reply

