Fannie Farmer Has Arrived!

It’s official!

As of July 19th, 2013, I am a proud owner of  The Fannie Farmer Baking Book – the 1984 edition (If you get the chance, you should definitely read George Orwell’s 1984!) . I ordered a used copy for a mere $4.70 (shipping included) from amazon, and it arrived in just two days (thank you amazon prime)!

Fannie Farmer Baking Book

Here’s my book just casually chilling on the windowsill of my kitchen. It’s in pretty good condition. I kind of like the vintage, used feel of the book.

I spent a good part of my day perusing the book, and I have to say that this book definitely deserves to be on James Beard’s Baker’s Dozen list. I can’t attest to the quality of the recipes yet, but the book is FILLED with helpful tips and information. There’s an entire chapter dedicated to explaining  common baking spices, ingredients, equipment, and techniques – a must-have for the beginning baker.

Also, if you’re a beginning baker, you’re going to love the ‘Basics Master Recipe’ that’s given at the beginning of each chapter. These recipes give you detailed, step- by-step instructions to help you grasp the basic techniques. Even without photographs to supplement the  basic master recipes, the instructions are so descriptive that I can’t imagine messing it up if I carefully follow what it says.

I’m not sure what I’ll bake first…but I’m excited to finally get started!!

One thought on “Fannie Farmer Has Arrived!

Leave a Reply

